A Tour Round Winnal Moors

by A warbler a day

Yesterday I took the day off work to go on a walk organised by the Hampshire Wildlife Trust around Winnal Moors. This is a large reserve near the centre of Winchester. The walk was round the Northern section which is normally closed to the public. The reserve is mostly water meadows and reedbeds. As expected it was very squelchy underfoot but this did not stop the walk being enjoyable and informative. I saw plenty of Banded Demoiselles, my first of the year and a Roe Deer was glimpsed in amongst the reeds. All the way round the site we heard Reed and Sedge Warblers without getting much of a view of them. On the journey home I was surprised to spot a pair of Shelducks on a flooded field in Wherwell. That evening I had a lovely stroll up the Red Rice Road spotting Whitethroats, Linnets, a Skylark and a Red-legged Partridge.

Today work kept me in Andover though eating lunch in the park by my office I spent several minutes watching a Song thrush foraging and eventually finding a nice juicy earthworm only to have it snatched away by a male Blackbird.

