A Blustery Day at Blashford

by A warbler a day

As it was to be another showery Saturday I went to Blashford Lakes again as it has hides where I could keep dry. As it happens it didn’t rain in the end, it was however very blustery. As usual before lunch I visited the woodland and Iv Lake Hides. They were rather quiet, though I saw a Great spotted Woodpecker and a Nuthatch on the visitor centre feeding station and a female Blackcap along the path. Things improved after lunch. From the Tern Hide I saw dozens of Terns, naturally. There were definitely Common Terns and there may of been Arctic terns in amongst them but I couldn’t find any. There was also a distant Little Ringed Plover on the gravel spit as well as many Sand Martins flashing over the lake. In the trees between the car park and the road I spotted a couple of singing warblers, a Whitethroat and my first Garden Warbler of the year. Numbers 2 and 3 came later on my tour round the reserve. Also seen later were Chiffchaffs and a Willow Warbler. On the insect front I saw several butterflies including my first Speckled Woods of the year. I also saw my first damselfly of the year,. Unfortunately it had not developed its mature colouring making it impossible to identify

As the weather was still pretty good spent a bit of time in the afternoon in the New Forest proper. At Linwood I saw a couple of recently fledged Song Thrushes. I parked up at Ashley Walk and headed to Cockley Bushes. Along the way I saw some lovely small birds, several Meadow Pipits, 2 male Stonechats and best of all 3 handsome male Redstarts, another year tick. So yet another great around Blashford and the New Forest!

