Warbling in the Spring Sun

by A warbler a day

I’ve enjoyed another sunny weekend in Hampshire. Yesterday I went to Titchfield Haven Nature Reserve. When I arrived it was high tide and resting on the shingle bank by the harbour there was a small flock of Turnstones and Sanderlings. The scrapes were as usual dominated by the very noisy and very argumentative colony of Black-headed Gulls. However in amongst were some nice waders; a flock of Black-tailed Godwits, resplendent in their copper summer plumage, and half a dozen Avocets. The woodlands and scrub were good for warblers with several singing Blackcaps and Chiffchaffs. I even saw a Cetti’s Warbler flying between bushes, twice. I ended the day with a walk around Hook with Warsash where I saw my first Wheatear of the year, a very handsome male.

Today i went on another of my regular walks from West Down, Chilbolton along the Test Way to Wherwell and back across Cow Common. As with yesterday there were loads of Blackcaps and Chiffchaffs singing, many of them giving good views. The walk ended with my first Willow Warbler of the year singing its lovely song from the top of a birch tree. Whilst on the common I saw a Red Kite flying low at the same time as distant high-flying Buzzard. It was also a good day for lepidoptera. 5 species of were seen, Brimstone, Orange Tip, Peacock, and Green-veined and Large White. I also got a glimpse of an Orange Underwing moth flying up into a birch tree on West Down.

