Highlights of a wet and windy week.

by A warbler a day

Another week of wind and rain, yet despite that I have managed to see some nice wildlife.

Earlier last week I got in a couple of after-work walks around Rooksbury Mill. On Monday I was serenaded there by chorus of Wrens, at least half a dozen males singing on the site. On Wednesday I glimpsed a family of 3 Otters in the river and Barlows Lake.

The security light at my flat as attracted my first moths of the year, a Pale Brindled Beauty and my first ever Early Moth.

Today I dodged the heavy showers at Blashford Lakes. The feeders by the Woodland hide were very busy with lots of finches and tits, including a several Siskins, some Lesser Redpolls and a couple of male Reed Buntings. unfortunately yet again there were no Bramblings or Mealy Redpolls. Later on I managed to get one of the hides by Ibsley Water. Whilst most of the birds were a long way a way and the sun was in my eyes, I did manage to spot my first Goosanders and Egyptian Goose of the year.

The undoubted highlight of the day was seen from the Ivy Lake North hide. When I got to the hide a couple were staring intently at the reedbed to the right of the hide. It turned out they had located a Bittern in an open patch in the reeds. I got the best view I have had of Bittern. Fantastic!

Next weekend I will hopefully be visiting Slimbridge for the first time. I will let you know how I got on!

