Spring in January!

by A warbler a day

I have had a busy few days driving across Berkshire and Hampshire seeing signs of spring everywhere. On Saturday I visited Hosehill Lake near Theale in Berkshire. There I spotted my first Goldeneye of the year including a couple of males engaged in their courtship display, throwing their heads back. I also had a quick look at Theale Main Pit next door but there was no sign of the Smew which had been spotted earlier in the week. From Theale I went I drove to Greenham Common which was rather devoid of birds though I did hear some Woodlarks singing. unfortunately they appeared to be invisible as I could not work out where they were perched/flying.

On Sunday, between showers I went to Rooksbury Mill where there is a profusion of flowering Snowdrops. Further signs of spring have been heard around Andover in the form of singing Song Thrushes and Chaffinches.

Tomorrow I’m off again to South Essex, party for a football but also for the opportunity to visit the many RSPB reserves in the area.

