Interesting winter visitors

by A warbler a day

Yesterday I headed down to Lepe on the New Forest coast in the hope of seeing some interesting winter visitors. I first walked to Stansore point to look for the Lesser Yellowlegs that had been staying there since before christmas. It is a N American wader that looks a bit like a Redshank but with yellow legs, obviously! Initially my scanning of the pools at the point only produced Redshanks but then I saw a couple of waders in the water, one of was slightly smaller than the other, and then i saw a glimpse of a yellow not red leg. Yes it was the Lesser Yellowlegs. It’s not a lifetime first as I saw one a few years back at Cley Marshes on Norfolk but still a good bird.

Next I walked west towards Inchmery where the websites suggested I would find Divers and Grebes. What I mostly found were distant Dunlins and Brent Geese. I eventually spotted 3 ducks on the water. They were distant and slightly silhouetted but eventually determined that they were Pintails. Then behind the ducks I saw 2 small grebes. With their flat not peaked caps I believe they were Slavonian Grebes, some had been reported earlier last week. Some of these regularly winter on the south coast. unfortunately there was no sign of the Divers.

A decent first Saturday birdwatch of the year.

