A good start to November

by A warbler a day

The first few days of November have proved very fruitful. It start on Friday the 1st with a lunchtime walk at Milford-on-Sea from Cut Bridge to Sturt Pond, where I saw my first ever Red-breasted Goose. It was swimming amongst a small flock of Brent Geese. Also seen that day were a female Stonechat following the Cut, a couple of Rock Pipits and a couple of Dunlins mixed in a flock of Turnstones.

On Saturday morning I walked up the road from my flat to Bury Hill. On the dead tree in the middle of the hillfort there was a male Sparrowhawk as well as a Buzzard. The difference in size was very noticeable. On the way back a pair of Bullfinches and a Skylark passed overhead,

After church on Sunday I headed to Testwood Lakes, where for once I got to spend time in the hides. looking out on to the scrapes i managed to get a brief view of a Snipe. Otherwise it was the usual mix of waterfowl (Canada Geese, Teals, Mallards and Shoveler), Black-headed Gulls and Lapwings. A couple of Grey Herons chased each other about and a Buzzard was harried by crows. I then stopped off at Fishlake Meadows on the northern edge of Romsey. This is an area of wetlands by an old canal. In the wet meadows there are several dead trees and on one of them was another Sparrowhawk. Also spotted were several flocks of Redwings, a Mistle Thrush and a brief glimpse of a Cetti’s Warbler.

I hope this past weekend is portent for the rest of the month!

