The Last Signs of Summer

by A warbler a day

Yesterday I headed down to Titchfield Haven in the hope of finding some migrants. I was greeted by the sight of Swallows streaming overhead heading south across the Solent. Surprisingly the scrapes were lacking waders with the exception of the usual Lapwings and Godwits. I got a brief glimpse of couple of Snipe in the grass at the edge. On the duck front there were large numbers of Wigeon and Teal, a good indication that autumn has arrived. However summer had not left completely as the butterflies were still emerging as evidenced by a beautiful fresh-looking Peacock. There was also a good selection of dragonflies, Southern and Migrant Hawkers, and Common and Ruddy Darters. Their presence explained the sight of a Hobby diving overhead. This wasn’t the only wonderful raptor seen yesterday as I had great views of a female Marsh Harrier soaring over the meadow. Afterwards I drove to Warsash and walked along to Hook Links. unfortunately there were no small migrant birds but I did managed to spot a Clouded Yellow butterfly and got views of another Hobby, time being harassed by Carrion Crow.

Today I went walking around Stockbridge Down where I found more signs that summer has not quite finished, a Willow Warbler flitting through a tree and a Meadow Brown butterfly. I wonder if summer will be holding on next weekend!

