Some Lovely Little Waders

by A warbler a day

i continued my week off with trip today down to the coast at Pennington and Keyhaven. On the way down I took a brief detour into the New Forest to stop at Milking pound Bottom where both Hoopoe and Wryneck had been spotted in the past week. However there was sign of either of these ornithological curiosities. There were however some Graying butterflies, my first this year and more Clouded Yellows. So it was on to Pennington to look for some wading birds. For the first hour and a half it was mostly the usual suspects, Turnstones, Oystercatchers, Redshanks and Ringed Plovers. Initially the best birds were some Grey Plovers still in their smart summer plumage. It wasn’t until I reached the last of the lagoons, Keyhaven Lagoon, that I struck wader ‘gold’. In amongst a large flock of Dunlin I spotted some slightly taller birds. These turned out to be Curlew Sandpipers. Better was to come though as I walked back to the car. Looking at a muddy patch on Fishtail Lagoon, where I had earlier seen some Ringed Plovers and a single Dunlin. I saw 2 distinctly smaller waders. These had to be Little Stint, a fabulous little bird. The wader show was finally completed by a Spotted Redshank flying overhead. In addition I saw another Clouded Yellow butterfly. What a lovely way to spend my birthday!

