Butterflies today!

by A warbler a day

I spent this morning on a butterfly walk, jointly organised by the Hampshire Wildlife trust and Butterfly Conservation, on Stockbridge Down. A group of over 30 people roamed over the down spotting 22 species of butterfly (I saw 19 of them). Easily the numerous species was Chalkhill Blue. They were everywhere. However the star performers were some Clouded Yellows and a couple of Silver-spotted Skippers. In addition to plethora of butterflies I spotted 7 species of moth including my first Dusky Sallow and Pebble Hook-tip of the year.

In the afternoon I headed down to Stockbridge Common Marsh where to my delight I saw another Clouded yellow. My only previous sighting of a Clouded Yellow was a single butterfly 13 years ago on Portland. Today I more than tripled my sightings. Brilliant!

