An Aggressive Little Butterfly

by A warbler a day

After work yesterday I took a short spin around Anton Lakes in the sweltering late afternoon sun. The highlight was the sight of a Large Skipper chasing a much larger butterfly, a Comma, away from a patch of flowers. It certainly did not let the difference in size stop it defending its territory. Other nice sights included an Emperor dragonfly and a male bullfinch.

The previous evening my walk around Testwood Lakes had been rather spoiled, despite seeing both Common and Green Sandpiper, by an encounter with a dog owner who did not understand the concept of close control. Her excuse was it was only a puppy and the reserve was the safest place to ‘train’ it though the training appeared to consist of her telling me to turn my back to the puppy. Having commented on the need for dogs to kept under close control in the NATURE RESERVE!, she accused me of spoiling her day! Rant over!

