Farlington and Hayling

by A warbler a day

As it was going to be a warm and sunny day I thought I’d head down to the coast. I spent the morning at Farlington Marshes before going on to Hayling Island.

Farlington was breezy and the tide was in. Nevertheless there were plenty of birds around. I saw both Meadow and Rock Pipits. There was a flock of Black-tailed Godwits on the lagoon and a Mediterranean Gull flew overhead. The bushy area on The Point Field had several Sedge Warblers performing song flights plus a family of Whitethroats and a Reed Warbler in the neighbouring reeds. On the marshy field there was a solitary Brent Goose that had obviously got left behind when the rest of its flock had gone north. In the bushy area near the car park I got into a game of hide and seek with some singing Lesser Whitethroats and Cetti’s Warblers. As usual they were far better at hiding than I am seeking and therefore I lost.

On to Haying Island I parked at Sinah Common and walked along the beach to Gunner Point and back. The grassy area had several Meadow Pipits singing and I saw my first Common Blue butterflies of the year. Offshore there were many Terns, Common and Sandwich, but unfortunately no Little Terns. However I did get a view of a couple of Gannets in the distance. All in all another successful jaunt to the seaside.

