Butterflies after work!

by A warbler a day

On the way back to Andover this evening I stopped for a stroll on Stockbridge Down. There were not many interesting birds showing themselves bar a Kestrel, a Willow Warbler and possibly a Woodlark. However there were several butterflies and moths flying about. The numerous were Brimstones followed by Orange Tips and Small Heaths. Of more interest though were 3 Green Hairstreaks in amongst the scrub as well as single Grizzled and Dingy Skippers. I also got good views of some day-flying moths – Common and Red Twin-spot Carpets and an attractive black and white micro moth called Pyrausta nigrata (a 1st for the year). There were numerous other lepidoptera of different shapes and sizes that did not stop long enough for me to identify. Maybe I’ll get more for my list next time.

