Stockbridge, river and down.

by A warbler a day

I spent this afternoon walking round various sights in the Stockbridge area. First off I went up Danebury Ring. There I saw my first Spotted Flycatchers of the year, possibly a pair. There were also at least 3 male Garden Warblers singing. I’ve really got my eye (and ear) in with this species now. At one point I conveniently had a Garden Warbler singing at the same time as a Blackcap just to help distinguish the two songs. I also saw a day-flying moth, the Common Carpet.

Next I visited Stockbridge Common Marsh where the Swifts and House Martins continue to swoop overhead. I even saw a pair of Swifts mating in mid-air. The Sedge Warblers were again singing, in the sedges naturally.

I then went back up-hill, this time up Stockbridge Down. There were loads of Warblers singing – Whitethroat, Blackcap, Garden Warbler and Willow Warbler – though they proved nigh on impossible to see. There was also another day flying moth, the Red Twin-spot Carpet.

Finally I stopped for a few minutes at the bridge over the Test at The Bunny, Longstock. Here I saw a Grey Wagtail and heard a Cuckoo.

