Nightingales at Greenham Common

by A warbler a day

Today I had a lovely late-afternoon/early-evening walk around Crookham and Greenham Commons. I timed it so that I would be in the Fireplane area after 6 o’clock on the off-chance there might be Nightingales about. On the way round I saw a flock of Linnets, some Lapwings displaying, a male Stonechat, some Meadow Pipits and a Skylark. When I finally reached the Fireplane all was generally quiet until I reached some small trees just to the east of the Fireplane itself. There, I not only heard at least 4 Nightingales but saw 3 or 4 flying between the trees and shrubs, one of them was carrying what looked like nesting material. Just to put the icing on the day I saw a Woodlark a few minutes later. Isn’t it great when a plan works out!

