Pennington in the mist

by A warbler a day

As I ended my working day in the New Milton area I thought that I would spend some time walking around the nearby Pennington Marshes, a group of coastal lagoons west of Lymington. The forecasts all week had been saying that this evening would be warm and sunny. That was not the case. It was a little misty and rather chilly. However the bird life more than made up. The whole site was being strafed by feeding swallows and martins. As soon as I got out of the car I heard and then saw my first Whitethroat of the year, another warbler for my list. Soon after I found something even better, a Spotted Redshank in its smart black summer plumage. As I walked around the grassy area by the car park I heard the songs of Meadow Pipits and Sedge Warbler, though could not see the singers. I did however see a Skylark taking off in full song. On the coastal mud there were Dunlins, Common Redshanks, Ringed Plovers, Curlews and a Turnstone, whilst the lagoons had Shelduck and Black-tailed Godwit.

