This week: Signs of Spring

by A warbler a day

I have been travelling all over Hampshire and parts of Berkshire this week, and on my journeys have seen plenty more signs that spring has finally arrived. There are increasing numbers of Swallows and Martins performing aerobatics as they feed on flying insects. Blackcaps and Willow Warblers are now singing with the Chiffchaffs in a Warbler chorus. Cowslips are coming into flower. I also had 2 excellent bird sightings.
1. On Monday I popped to Testwood Lakes and spotted a Little Ringed Plover feeding on the edge of the scrapes.
2. On Tuesday evening, en route to see my beloved Southend Utd play at Aldershot, I stopped off at Fleet Pond. My reward was, in addition to seeing my first 3 Common Terns of the year, a Little Gull. That’s only the second time I’ve ever seen one.
I also found a nice macro moth, an Engrailed, on the window of an office I visit near Totton. The people I work with are fortunately well aware of my fascination with moths!
Roll on the rest of April and more summer migrants and maybe a few more butterflies and moths.

