A Nice Surprise

by A warbler a day

Yesterday I headed to Testwood Lakes and Lower Test Marshes in Totton in the hope of seeing Garganey, Sand Martin, Firecrest and assorted Sandpipers. Naturally I saw none of these, though according to the Going Birding website they were about. the one highlight was a female Goosander on the scrapes at Testwood.

Thos afternoon I decided to have short walk round Stockbridge Common Marsh. I wasn’t expecting to anything exceptional though I had hopes of a Cetti’s Warbler. However the riverside brought only a few pairs of Little Grebes, a pair of Gadwall and some feeding Chiffchaffs and Wren. As I walked back along the trees that back on to the Test Valley Way, I heard a song that sounded a little like a Goldcrest. On closer inspection though I got a nice surprise. it was a Firecrest. It gave a superb view of its vivid orange crest, before turning to give a brief but clear side view. Yes!! The best sightings are often when least expected.

