This week’s wildlife

by A warbler a day

It’s been a busy week at work for me. However this did not prevent me seeing some nice wildlife out and about in west Hampshire.

Monday: A Chiffchaff at Rooksbury Mill, where there was also a few Gadwall still on Barlow’s Lake.
Tuesday: A Mistle Thrush singing from the top of a tree outside my flat, also around Wednesday and Friday.
Wednesday: A Roe Deer in the meadows by Itchen Navigation south of Winchester.
Thursday: A sparrowhawk flying over Rooksbury Mill
Friday: A flock of Fieldfares over the fields by Red Rice Road.

However, the best sighting of the week occurred when I was driving home on Wednesday. I had just turned off the A3057 into Goodworth Clatford when I spotted a bird flying slowly and low over the fields next to the church. I hurriedly, but safely, stopped to get a better look and, yes, it was a Barn Owl. My first of the year!

