A few days in south essex

by A warbler a day

I’ve just returned from a few days away with my parents in Thurrock. Most of the time was spent up in London on a course for work. However I found time for a couple of visits to the RSPB reserve at Rainham Marshes. On both occasions it was high tide which meant loads of ducks and a few waders. The highlights were;
* Several Pintail
* Good views of feeding snipe
* A flock of Golden Plover plus a few Dunlin and Ringed Plover and a solitary Grey Plover
* A Little Grebe attempting to eat a frog
* A pair of Reed Bunting on the feeders in the woodland area.

I also made 2 attempts to see the Black Redstarts that have spent the past couple of weeks on the riverfront at Ferry Lane Industrial Estate, Rainham. However on both occasions they were conspicuous by their absence. The second time I apparently missed them by 10 minutes. Just my luck.

On the other hand my luck was in when I spotted a Marsh Harrier from the train flying low and slow over the marshes.

