The Andover Bird Challenge

by A warbler a day

This morning I went on the annual Andover Bird Challenge organised by the local group of the Hampshire wildlife Trust. We met up at Rooksbury Mill and spilt into 2 groups to try and find as many species of bird as possible. The route my group took was through Rooksbury Mill reserve, along the Anton Riverside walk to Upper Clatford, where took the path from Above Town to Church Lane and back to the car park via Norman Court Lane. The group encountered over 40 species in total. Unfortunately I couldn’t stay to find out if we beat the other team. For me the best birds were a Marsh Tit seen in Church Lane and a Chiffchaff singing at Rooksbury Mill.

I later spent the afternoon at Danebury Ring where I saw a flock of around 100 Fieldfare. Driving back to Upper Clatford I spotted an interesting flock of birds in the hedgerow just after the turn off on to Stockbridge. To my pleasant surprise it turned out to be a dozen Corn Buntings.

