Buntings Galore!

by A warbler a day

This afternoon I visited Danebury Ring, an iron age hillfort near Stockbridge. After a rather icy walk up from the lower car park I was greeted by loads of buntings in the scrubby area just below the fort itself. A mixed flock of Yellowhammers and the less common Corn Buntings were flying between the bushes, calling as they went. A couple of Meadow Pipits also flew overhead. The wooded area around the fort was a little quieter though a couple of Mistle Thrushes appeared with their rattling call. On the way back down the hill a few Skylarks passed towards the fields next door and as I reached the car again around I spotted 30 Lapwings flying southwards.

Earlier I spent 30 minutes at Rooksbury Mill where I saw a male Blackcap and heard my first Chaffinch song this year.

