A Snowy Walk Round Rooksbury Mill

by A warbler a day

This afternoon I walked through the snow to Rooksbury Mill and back. On the way I saw a Great Spotted Woodpecker (1st of the year) and a lone Redwing. The highlights of the reserve itself were a Grey Wagtail, feeding along bits of branch in the river, and a Kingfisher flashing across Barlows Lake. These were both also my first of the year. All the way round I got good views of Wrens. I also thought I saw a Cetti’s Warbler but can’t be 100% certain. As I got back to Upper Clatford I hoped to see the Buzzard in the same tree it was in yesterday. It was not but soon afterwards I saw something better. A Red Kite drifted slowly low overhead.

Earlier today I had some good action on my feeding station. The star being the return of Mr Blackcap who chased off all comers, including a couple of starlings. I felt more sorry though for some Long-tailed Tits who were on the wrong end of a full-on Blackcap attack!

