Raptors over Goodworth Clatford, Roe Deer at Upper Clatford

by A warbler a day

This afternoon I went on another of my regular walks. This is a circular walk south from Goodworth Clatford along the River Anton returning via Westover Farm. As I sat eating my lunch at Goodworth Clatford I saw 3 Buzzards and 1 Sparrowhawk soaring overhead. Then along the river there were 3 Little Grebes, 2 of them beginning to get their breeding plumage. Soon after a Little Egret flew off down the river. Also of interest was a Stock Dove flying over the fields in the direction of Wherwell.

Later on after a cup of chicken soup at home I had a brief stroll up the Red Rice Road and saw 2 Roe Deer resting beside a hedge.

I saw a total of 33 species of bird today, my best daily total of the year so far.

