My Local Patch

For the first time this year I went on my most regular nature walks.
First was Rooksbury Mill, my nearest nature reserve. It is on the southern edge of Andover and consists of 2 small lakes, Barlow’s Lake and Mill lake, with the river Anton winding between them. Today i sa the usual selection of common small birds and waterfowl. Of most interest today were
* 10 Tufted Duck, 4 Little Grebe and a pair of Gadwall on Barlow’s Lake
* A Cormorant perched in a tree by Mill Lake and a Grey Heron in a bush below it.
* 3 Redwing in a tree by the mill.
I also heard my first Song Thrush singing this year. Unfortunately it was too deep in the undergrowth to be seen. I was hoping to see the resident otter but it did not put in an appearance today.

Later on I walked from my home up the Red Rice Road to Bury Hill. This a circular hill fort whose banks are covered in Oak woodland and scrub but with sheep grazed pasture in the centre. My walk up the road also takes in views over a hay meadow and arable field. However today it was very quiet with only a Jay being of interest.